Cr Ron Ismay
Hindmarsh Shire Council 2018 Mayor Cr Ron Ismay

Hindmarsh Shire Council has elected the Mayor for the 2017/2018 period.  Cr  Ron Ismay won the vote after Cr Debra Nelson served as Mayor for the past two years.

At the Special Council meeting held on November 1, councillors also moved a motion that a deputy mayor be appointed to council which was carried.

Cr Ron Lowe has been appointed as Deputy Mayor giving the ‘Two Ronnies’ from the north ward the leadership.

Cr Tony Schneider had nominated Cr Debra Nelson to be returned as Mayor again, only to be defeated for the role by Cr Ron Ismay.

Cr David Colbert, Cr Rob Gersch and Cr Ron Lowe all supported Cr Ismay’s nomination.

The new Mayor Cr Ismay spoke of all the great work the outgoing mayor Cr Nelson had achieved in her term and said he looked forward to the challenges that lay ahead for him as Mayor.

Mayor Cr Ron Ismay lives in Rainbow and is an active community member, as well as running his hardware store in Rainbow, that his Grandfather started 92 years ago.

Cr Ismay has been CFA captain, Town Committee chair, a councillor and shire president in the former Dimboola shire, School Council president, and has spent over 20 years on the board of the local health service. His particular interests include tourism, business development and health.

Cr Ismay also earned accolades this year for his work to bring the Australian Round of the Desert Enduro to Rainbow, that will now be held as an annual event in Hindmarsh Shire, attracting visitors from all over Australia.

Cr Nelson said, “I congratulate Cr Ismay on his new position and look forward to working with him in the coming year on some exciting projects.”

“I will now take a well earned rest over Christmas, before I will look at seeking a new job,” she said.

The new Mayor’s first mayoral duty was to present council long service awards.

Hindmarsh Shire Council service awardees were Wayne Schulze for 35 years of service, Wendy Zanker for 20 years of service, Julie Schneider for 15 years service, Mayor Cr Ron Ismay and Craig Gersch for 10 years of service.

Hindmarsh Shire Council elect a new mayor annually.